IRAWMA returns to Florida May 4th for its 32nd annual award show with an all star line-up of Reggae, Caribbean and World Music  Entertainers


The International Reggae and World Music Awards better known as the IRAWMA was originally established in 1982.  According to the official website, www.Irawma.Com, the mission of the award show “acknowledges  and honors the accomplishments and contributions of Reggae and World Music artists including songwriters, performers, promoters, and musicians”.   The 32nd annual event returns to Florida after  20 years of being held in numerous locations in the US as well as Trinidad and Tobago and Jamica.  Freddie McGregor and Etana will co-host the 32 Annual IRAWMA at the prestigious Coral Springs Center for the Arts in Fort Lauderdale, FL.   

The entertainment segment of the program will feature over 15  top entertainers in the Reggae, Caribbean, and World Music industry that will  include  live performances by Mr. Vegas, Dean Fraser and the Dean Fraser all star band,  Romain Virgo ,Calypso Rose, Half Pint, Richie Stephens, Macka Diamond, African Soukous Star: Top One-Frisson, Mutabaruka, Hatian/Compan emerging star: J-Beatz, and South Florida’s Rising Stars and nominees Sons of Mystro, and Gospel performances by Rev. Dr. Norris Weir, Second Chance, and Jonathan Laurince and True Worshippers.  Additional performances to be announced. 

Over  200 reggae and world music industry individuals, groups and others were nominated in 40 categories for their accomplishments and contribution. Mr Vegas leads this year’s nominees with six nominations followed by Damian Marley with five, Sean Paul, Konshens, Romain Virgo and Third World with four. Jimmy Cliff, Marcia Griffiths, Tarrus Riley and Busy Signal all have  three nominations. The complete list of nominees is listed on

For the latest information on the 2013 IRAWMA, check the official website 

A few photos from the 30th Anniversary of the Irawma held in Trinidad and Tobago in 2011. 

Reggae Reflection Coverage of the 30th Annual IRAWMA 

%d bloggers like this: