Bunji Garlin proves Ready for the Road at Soul Train Awards 2013

Bunji Garlin proves Ready for the Road at Soul Train Music Awards 2013

Feature & Photos of Bunji Garlin by Empress K for Reggae Reflection

Bunji Garlin Picture Six Flags NJ

Congrats to Ian Alvarez popularly known as Bunji Garlin (aka The Viking) on his recent win in the Best International Performance Category for his song Differentology at the 27th annual Soul Train Awards. The awards were held on November 8th in Las Vegas and  aired on Centric TV and BET on December 1st.   MIssed the initial showing?  Watch the Encore of the Soul Train Awards on  Centric TV  this Saturday , December 14th at 7:00pm ET. 

The Soul Train Awards honored artists in 12 Soul Train Award Categories and 4 CentricTV categories. For the Best International Performance Category,  Bunji Garlin was nominated along with fellow Trinidadian Soca Artist Machel Montano , British born Scottish recording artist Emeli Sande, Nigerian R&B identical twins duo P-Square, and Nigerian Singer Iyanya. 

Special honors were granted to Musical Icons Dionne Warwick (Legend award) and Keith Sweat (Lifetime Achievement). 

Differentology since its initial release in November, 2012 has remained popular with fans and critics alike.  The Electronic Dj music team of Major Lazer remixed the track for their  free EP ‘Lazers Never Die Vol. 4’,   and Differentology recently appeared in an episode of the ABC’s top rated drama Grey’s Anatomy.  The popular track is featured on  Soca Gold 2013 (VP) and available now on iTunes.   Bunji Garlin will release his upcoming studio album, aptly titled Differentology, next year on VP Records.

 Follow Bunji Garlin on Twitter @BunjiGarlin

A Look back at last year’s 2012 Best International Performance Category  

Missing from the 2013 Soul Train Awards was the Best Caribbean Performance Category.  In 2012,  Sean Paul took the honors. 

Differentology Official Video

Differentology Major Lazer Remix

Photo Highlights from Bunji Garlin’s  appearance at Six Flags NJ Caribbean Concert  8/2013

2013 Soul Train Awards Full list of Nominees & Winners


For more information on the Soul Train Awards, please visit BET.com/SoulTrain.  Follow them @centrictv and @bet, and join the conversation with #SoulTrainAwards #WeGotSoul.

Best New Artist
1. Bridget Kelly
2. K. Michelle (winner)
3. Kendrick Lamar
4. Tamar Braxton
5. TGT

•Centric Certified Award
1. Joss Stone
2. Luke James (winner)
3. Lyfe Jennings
4. Solange
5. Stacy Barthe
6. Talib Kweli

•Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance
1. Break Every Chain – Tasha Cobbs
2. Confessions- Lecrae
3. Every Praise – Hezekiah Walker
4. God Will Make Away – Shirley Caesar
5. If He Did It Before…Same God – Tye Tribbett (winner)
6. Life & Favor – John P. Kee

•Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
1. Bad – Wale feat. Tiara Thomas (winner)
2. High School – Nicki Minaj feat. Lil Wayne
3. Holy Grail – Jay Z feat. Justin Timberlake
4. Poetic Justice – Kendrick Lamar feat. Drake
5. Power Trip – J. Cole feat. Miguel
6. Started From the Bottom – Drake

•Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
1. Alicia Keys
2. Chrisette Michelle
3. Fantasia
4. Janelle Monae
5. Kelly Rowland
6. Tamar Braxton (winner)

•Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
1. Bruno Mars
2. Charlie Wilson
3. Chris Brown
4. John Legend
5. Miguel (winner)
6. Robin Thicke

•Album of the Year
1. 20/20 Experience, The – Justin Timberlake
2. Good Kid, M.A.A.D City – Kendrick Lamar (winner)
3. Kaleidoscope Dream – Miguel
4. Magna Carta…Holy Grail – Jay-Z
5. The Side Effects of You – Fantasia
6. Unapologetic – Rihanna

•Song of the Year
1. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. (winner)
2. Diamonds -Rihanna
3. Fine China – Chris Brown
4. Love and War – Tamar Braxton
5. Poetic Justice – Kendrick Lamar feat. Drake
6. Suit & Tie – Justin Timberlake feat. Jay Z

•The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award
1. Crooked Smile – J.Cole (Jermaine Cole, Meleni Smith)
2. Fire We Make – Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell (Alicia Keys, Andrew Wansel, Warren Felder, Gary Clark Jr.)
3. Lose to Win – Fantasia (Andrea Martin, Harmony Samuels, Fantasia Barrino, Courtney Harrell, Emeli Sande)
4. Love & War – Tamar Braxton (Tamar Braxton. LaShawn Daniels, Makeba Riddick) (winner)
5. Mirrors – Justin Timberlake (Justin Timberlake, Timothy Mosley, Jerome Harmon, James Fauntleroy)
6. Q.U.E.E.N. – Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu (Janelle Monae Robinson, Nathaniel Irvin III, Charles Joseph II, Kellis Parker Jr, Roman GianArthur Irvin)

•Best Dance Performance
1. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke
2. Body Party – Ciara (winner)
3. Fine China – Chris Brown
4. Q.U.E.E.N. – Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu
5. Suit & Tie – Justin Timberlake feat. Jay Z
6. Treasure – Bruno Mars

•Video of the Year 
1. Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. (Diane Martel)
2. Fine China – Chris Brown (Chris Brown, Sylvain White)
3. Love & War – Tamar Braxton (Walid Azami)
4. Poetic Justice – Kendrick Lamar feat. Drake (The Lil Homie, Dave Free, and Dangerookipawaa)
5. Q.U.E.E.N. – Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu (Alan Ferguson) (winner)
6. Started from the Bottom – Drake (Director X)

•Best Collaboration 
1. Alicia Keys feat. Maxwell – Fire We Make
2. Brandy feat. Chris Brown – Put It Down
3. J.Cole feat. Miguel – Power Trip
4. Janelle Monae feat. Erykah Badu – Q.U.E.E.N.
5. Miguel feat. Kendrick Lamar – How Many Drinks
6. Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & T.I. – Blurred Lines (winner)
7. Wale feat. Sam Dew – LoveHate Thing

CentricTV.com awards (ONLINE VOTING ONLY): 

•Best International Performance (CENTRICTV.com)
1. Differentology – Bunji Garlin  WINNER
2. The Fog – Machel Montano
3. Next To Me – Emeli Sande
4. Personally – P-Square
5. Ur Waist – Iyanya

•Best Traditional Jazz Performance (CENTRICTV.com)
1. George Benson feat. Wynton Marsalis – Unforgettable
2. Jeffrey Osborne feat. Chaka Khan – Baby its Cold Outside
3. Tony Bennett feat. Marc Anthony – For Once In My Life
4. Nicole Henry – Waiting In Vain (winner)
5. Terrence Blanchard – Pet Step Sister’s Theme Song

•Best Contemporary Jazz Performance (CENTRICTV.com)
1. Jose James – Trouble
2. Boney James feat. Rick Braun – Batucada (The Beat)
3. Michael Buble – It’s A Beautiful Day
4. Dave Koz – Got To Get You Into My Life
5. George Duke – Missing You (winner)

•Best Independent R&B/Soul Performance (CENTRICTV.com)
1. Ashanti – Never Should Have (winner)
2. Brian McKnight – Sweeter
3. Kenny Lattimore – Find A Way
4. Maysa – Love Me Good
5. Raheem DeVaughn – Love Connection
6. Ronald Isley – Dinner And A Movie 

Empress K is the Founder, Primary Photo-Journalist and Editor of  www.reggaereflection.com.  The Reggae Reflection team has gained international recognition with quality coverage of premier reggae events in Jamaica, Canada, Trinidad and Tobago, Aruba, Barbados, Guyana, and Nigeria as well as numerous completed photography assignments  for notable  reggae events in the New England area, NY, Alabama, and Florida region.   Festival coverage has included Groovin In the Park, Six Flags NJ Caribbean Concert Series, IRAWMA,HangOut Festival Alabama, 9Mile Festival Miami, Rebel Salute, Sunfest FL and more. 

  • * Awarded Best Digital Media (nominated along with 9 other Media Outlets)  Linkage Awards in NY 3/11/12
  • * Nominated by The Association of Independent Reggae Music (AIRM)  for the “Most Supporting Reggae Media 
    •    Outlet in 2012″  NYC award show 2/23/13

Follow Empress K on Twitter, Instagram & Youtube  @1EmpressK & ReggaeReflection on Facebook

%d bloggers like this: